Pyrus tasks are essentially group chats around a specific work item that must be accomplished. Teammates can post comments, share files, and report their progress in moving the task forward.
Enter a message in the text field and decide where the task should go next. Do you want to hide the task from your Inbox assuming that another person takes over it? Click Send and Hide. Do you want to keep working on it yourself? Click Send. See Responding to tasks for more details.
There are three ways to add participants to a task.
Pyrus Tip: Mentions are not only useful for adding teammates, but also for drawing a teammate's attention to a task. By mentioning your teammates within a task, you inform them that you expect them to take action on it.
Once the new participant has been added to the task, they will see it in their Inbox.
Note: A maximum of 1,000 people can participate in a task.
Click pointer finger to choose a new assignee for the task.
You can select an existing task participant or any other Pyrus user in your network to become the new assignee.
Click the calendar button to set a deadline for a task.
Beyond the day, you can also specify the exact time when the task needs completion, and a duration if necessary.
Pyrus tip: if you add duration to a task, you can save it to your Google Calendar or download it to a ICS file to share it with any other applications you use for planning purposes.
If the task is overdue, there will be a red mark in the task’s info panel. The negative number indicates the number of days overdue.
When adding a comment, you can click Upload from disk to share files with the task’s participants.
To learn more about uploading files, refer to Attaching files and documents.
You can edit a comment you’ve published to eliminate a typo, add information, or correct an error. You can also delete an attached file. The edit history will be saved, so if you need to, you and your colleagues can always see what was edited, and when. Users with Supervisor privileges can see deleted files, and download them.
To edit a comment, tap the edit button.
Enter the corrections, and hit Save. The comment will be marked edited by the author.
You colleagues can see the edits by clicking on the word edited.
If an attached file is deleted during editing, a user with Supervisor privileges can see that, and can download the deleted file if needed.
Important! Comments cannot be deleted.
Depending on which is appropriate, you can make your decision using Approve, Acknowledge, or Disagree.
Click on the gray check mark, choose a variant, and click Send. After your comment is sent, you won't receive notifications about the task.
You can revoke your decision as well.
Replies sent by task participants are shown in the Participants section in the right panel. By clicking on the icon next to your name, you cancel your decision. To request a decision from a colleague again, click on the icon next to the colleague’s name.
The decision will be revoked, and a comment mentioning a colleague will appear in the task. This makes it clear that you’re expecting them to take action on it.
The task activity feed displays all related comments and actions, including task creation, attached files, and changes made to any of the fields, including subject, assignee, due date, and participants.
To see all the changes made to the task, click Actions > Show updates.
To hide the task activity feed, click Hide updates without comments.
There can be up to 10,000 comments on a task.
When working on a task, you may realize there are several other items that need to be taken care of at the same time. Though they may all be connected to one task, it can be useful to track them separately. In this case, it is convenient to add them to Pyrus as Associated tasks.
There are two ways to link tasks. The first is to divide one big task into several smaller ones. The second is to post a link to the task in a comment on another task. Associated tasks have a clear relationship:
To see these associations, click on the button to the right of Associated tasks.
In the window that opens, you will see the details.
To add a subtask, click the plus sign in the Associated Tasks section on the right panel.
A new task pop-up window will be displayed. Enter the subject, assignee, and other details as you need to. Click Send.
To add simple linked task post a link to it in a comment on another task.
Any message from an email with an address registered in Pyrus can be converted into a task. Just forward the message to email@example.com. The message will be shown in your Inbox as a task.
You can also comment on tasks from your email service. Just reply to a task notification message and the answer will be displayed in Pyrus.
All attachments of the email will be available in the task.
If any task participants aren’t in your contacts, you can send them friend requests. Choose the name of a new person in the Participants menu in the right panel, then click the Add to contacts button.
When a participant accepts your friend request, you can add him or her to tasks and mention them in the comments.