Roles | Pyrus Help Center
workflow:roles

Roles

What are roles for?

Roles ensure the continuity of a business process when someone responsible for a certain stage sick, on vacation, traveling, or otherwise absent. In this case, instead of a specific employee, a role is appointed for this specific stage, which is performed by this employee and his or her substitutes.

Roles are also useful for processing incoming requests by a group of interchangeable employees. For example:

  • customer requests are forwarded to employees in the Customer Service Department role;
  • tech support requests are processed by the Tech Support role participants;
  • contracts are approved by the Lawyer role, and the bills by the Accounting Department.

A role is similar to an ordinary user. You can assign tasks to a role and use it in your workflows. Each role participant receives a task in their Inbox, and when at least one of them approves or declines the task, it is forwarded to the next stage. For instance, the first available manager processes a customer request and forwards it for further evaluation by the project team.

One user may participate in several roles.

The list of roles within an organization can be found on the User Management page.

The Roles section may only be accessed by the supervisor — the person who has registered your organization with Pyrus — and the users to whom the supervisor granted the right to Change Roles.

Roles can be used to configure workflows. When assigning responsibility for a task at a specific stage, you can chose either a user or a role:

Creating a new role

You can create an unlimited number of roles within your organization.

To create a role, click New Role at the Roles Section of the User Management page. Enter the role name, and then click Save. Then select which employees from the list you want to designate to the role.

Now you can use this role for configuring forms and workflows, and request role approval in the tasks.

Modifying participants and removing roles

Companies change and evolve. When employees are transferred to other posts, or when the company structure shifts, it may be necessary to update the list of role participants, or perhaps to delete a role.

Select a role in the Roles Section of the User Management page.

  • To remove a participant from a role, click on the “x” button in the line with his/her name.
  • To set a different name for a role, click Rename. To delete a role, click Delete.

Note: if you delete a role, you can’t undo it.

Was this article helpful?

Yes, thanks! No, I have a question