Tutorial
basics:managing-inbox

Managing your Inbox

The Inbox is the first thing you see when you log into Pyrus. This is a list of tasks requiring your attention, your decision, or some other action. If any of your tasks have unread updates, that number of updates will appear in a yellow circle next to Inbox, on the lefthand menu.

We recommend starting every day by checking your Inbox and working toward Inbox Zero. From the moment you start working, you are presented with exactly what needs to be done, and you are left to process them one by one.

Responding to tasks

Open a task from the list and read its most recent comments.

When responding to a task, you can leave it in your Inbox or hide it until someone working on the task requests your attention again.

  • Click Send & Hide to post your comment and remove the task from your Inbox. The task will return to your Inbox when another participant responds, or when any other changes are made to the task.

  • Click Send when you want to provide people with an update while continuing work on the task. Your comment will be posted, but the task will remain in your Inbox.

  • Click Back if you want to reply to the task later. The task will remain in your Inbox and you can move on to the next item. As you can likely tell by now, using Pyrus is as simple as using email.

Setting a reminder

If you want to snooze a task and come back to it later, you can set a reminder. The task will disappear from your Inbox and re-appear again on the date you set.

Hiding a task from the Inbox

If you are only following along with a task and do not want to take part in its discussions, click Hide. The task will return to your Inbox only when another participant comments on it or otherwise changes the task. Though it stays in the background, you can more readily keep an eye on the task.

Archiving a task

Click Archive task on the upper toolbar to archive a task.

The task will disappear from every participant’s Inbox except the task creator’s, who will see it grayed and crossed out. The task can be found in search results and reopened if needed.

Deleting a task

Whoever creates a task can also delete it after it’s been completed.

Deleted tasks cannot be found using the Search function. All information related to deleted tasks is permanently erased.

Group task actions

You can archive or snooze a group of tasks all at once. To do this, select them in the Inbox and a list of available actions will open.

Pyrus Tip: Whenever someone closes a task you created, it will appear in your Inbox. Click Mark closed as Read to remove it from the list.

When a task has been hidden or archived, or a reminder has been set for it, the task will be removed from the Inbox list. This feature helps you focus on your current task as you work toward Inbox Zero. These tasks can be found via search or in the Recent folder.

Task statuses

When they appear on your lists, the task title’s font and color indicate the task’s status:

  • Bold: The task has new unread comments.
  • Brown: The task is due today.
  • Red: The task is overdue (the negative number at the end of the line indicates the number of days overdue).
  • Gray, crossed out: The task is archived.
  • Normal font: Current tasks that are not due yet, or have no specified deadline.

If the task has a due date, it is displayed to the right of the title.

Have any questions?

CONTACT US